It is finally here! We actually have it in our hands – the new masterpiece of Hamburg based photographer Ben Bernschneider. The last time I met him for a web talk, just before he went onto the big America-production journey, for precisely this project “Tales of an American Summer”. A Mixture of photo book and diary. By a photographer, who questioned himself and his works, who headed off and returned with a new perspective on life. Proofs of the analog approach are the small slides that come with every supporter-pack of his crowdfunding campaign and which are a genuine rarity.

But let’s talk about the mood of it all, first. And what better way to amp up your anticipation than to show you the making of trailer of the “Tales of an American Summer” success story.

Whoever has not yet set their heart on Tales of an amercian summer, will do so now. For 36,45€ you get a photo book with 240 pages, tightly packed with beautiful lifestyle series and mixed with documentary snapshots taken in sunny Palm Springs. If we didn’t know any better, we would think that Hank Moody captured his life in photographs. And the well-done softcover alone is an art piece for eternity. You get a sense of how much love Ben put into this book, when you read the little notes alongside the images. Semi-real, semi-fictional, he talks about a journey, everyone wishes they had went on themselves. A sneak peak, you ask? Sure thing:

Still insanely hungover, I have a panic attack on the plane and then this girl, who seems somehow familiar to me from
some movie or music video, hands out some Xanax to everyone. We all have some and after necking some shots of gin
and doing key bumps from a Mercedes 450SL’s key, we all sing TINY DANCER so loud that my ears ring. And as the
plane is falling out of the sky, through the clouds, my eyes roll back in my head and I thankfully pass out.

Ben has written all of these notes, as well as the acknowledgements directed at the supporters of his funding, manually on an old Olympia typewriter and afterwards digitized for the layout. Everything about that is so beautiful, I struggle to find more words for it. I snapped a few shots of the total work of art, which finally graces my bookshelf and without hesitation, I urge you to buying it yourself. Next to Steffen’s New York Logbook, it’s probably one of the mandatory purchases of German photographers in 2015.

Check out Ben’s Store to preorder his “Tales of an american summer” now.

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8452

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8454

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8456

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8457

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8459talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8458

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8461talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8460 talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8462

Da ist es endlich! Wir halten es wirklich in den eigenen Händen – das neue Meisterwerk vom Hamburger Fotografen Ben Bernschneider. Zuletzt hatte ich ihn zum Webtalk getroffen, bevor es auf große America-Produktionsreise ging, für genau dieses Projekt „Tales of an American Summer“. Eine Mixtur aus Bildband und Tagebuch. Von einem Fotografen, der sich und seine Arbeit in Frage stellte, loszog und sich mit einem neuen Auge dem Leben widmete. Dass es dabei auch ziemlich analog zu ging, beweisen die kleinen Dias, die den Supporter-Packs der Crowdfunding-Kampagne beiliegen und absolute Raritäten sind.

Aber zu erst etwas Stimmung. Und was könnte die besser hochkochen lassen, als der Trailer fürs Making-Of der „Tales of An American Summer“ Erfolgsgesichte.

Wer jetzt immer noch nicht geil auf Tales of an american summer ist, der wird es jetzt. Für 36,45 € gibt es nämlich ein 240 Seiten starken Bildband, prall gefüllt mit wunderschönen Lifestyle-Strecken und gemischt mit dokumentarischen Momentaufnahmen aus dem sonnigen Palm Springs. Wenn wir es nicht besser wüssten, würden wir glatt denken, Hank Moody hätte sein Leben fotografisch dokumentiert. Auf gelungenem Softcover mit offenem Papier ist allein das Cover ein Kunstwerk für die Ewigkeit. Wie viel Liebe Ben in dieses Buch gesteckt hat, lässt sich erahnen, wenn man die kleinen Notiztexte zu seinen Bildern ließt. Halb real, halb fiktional erzählt er von einer Reise, die jeder von uns am liebsten selbst gemacht hätte. Kleinen Vorgeschmack? Na klar:

Immer noch verkatert, habe ich eine Panikattacke an Bord und dieses Mädchen, dass ich aus irgendeinem Film oder Musikvideo kenne, reicht allen Valium. Wir alle nehmen eine und nachdem wir ein paar Gin-Shots gestürzt und ein paar Nasen genommen haben, singen wir alle TINY DANCER so laut, dass ich beinahe einen Hörsturz kriege. Und als der Privatjet aus dem Himmel fällt, durch die Wolken, drehen sich meine Augen in den Kopf zurück und ich werde angenehmerweise bewusstlos.

Geschrieben hat Ben diese kleinen Texte samt der Danksagung an alle Supporter seines Fundings übrigens per Hand auf einer alten Olympia Schreibmaschine und danach für das Layout digitalisiert. Das alles ist so schön, dass ich es gar nicht weiter in Worte fassen kann. Ich habe noch ein paar Bildchen von dem Gesamtkunstwerk gemacht, was nun endlich auch mein Bücherregal schmückt und spreche anschließend eine bedenkenlose Kaufempfehlung aus. Zusammen mit Steffens New York Logbuch wahrscheinlich einer der beiden absoluten Pflichtkäufe des deutschen Fotografen Jahres 2015.

Tales of an American Summer könnt ihr jetzt hier vorbestellen.

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8452

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8454

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8456

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8457

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8459talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8458

talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8461talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8460 talesofanamericansummer-1280px-8462